Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
interiorreflectionscom

Pay builder fixed fee?

Beth LaPenna
10 years ago

I'm waiting on my fourth bid on building my custom home. It has been a two year process to finalize the plans, write very detailed specifications and get three bids. The first bid was cost plus a percentage, the second was fixed contract (most opaque) and the third was cost plus flat fixed fee. To me, the third builder was the most transparent. No matter what the cost to build, his flat fixed fee remains the same. I am an interior designer by trade and am planning to provide the lighting, tile, wood flooring and plumbing fixtures (and perhaps a few others) because these are items I buy at cost. The items would be materials only, not the installation. I would be responsible for ordering and making sure they arrived in a timely manner so as not to delay construction (as is humanly possible). I've been very upfront with each builder about providing these items. This fourth builder expressed concern about my doing so I think because he believes I am taking profit away from him. I'd like to ask him to bid it cost plus flat fixed fee. Would that alleviate his concern or am I missing something?

This post was edited by BuildinginTXhillctry on Mon, Oct 7, 13 at 23:36

Comments (6)

• virgilcarter
    10 years ago

I'm not sure why you would have bid your project in so many ways. Was this your choice of the bidding contractor's?

General contractors (like everyone else) each have their own individual preferred method of contracting for construction, based on how they like to work and invoice. That said, an experienced builder will have probably used every contract type there is during their building lifetime, so your preference for cost plus fixed fee should not be a surprise.