Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stblgt_gw

chandelier size for a 2 story foyer

stblgt
10 years ago

we are starting to pick our light fixtures for our build and are sort of stumped on the size of our 2 story chandelier. looking for some help and here's what we're dealing with:

2 story foyer (6 feet wide, 8 feet deep, 19 feet height)
foyer is open to great room
foyer window measures 48" x 48"

we're looking in the 32" x 32" range right now (give or take a few), but not sure if that's too big? too small?

hopefully someone with more knowledge than me can give some good advice. thanks to all in advance!

Comments (3)

• rrah
    10 years ago

You might try posting this question in the home decorating forum. They are really good.

A couple of sources I've read state that the way to determine size is to add the room dimensions and convert to inches. A 6x8 room would equal a 14 inch fixture (width). That seems to small to me, but I'm not good at visualizing that. I will tell you that my two story foyer is about 14 X 10 (part of that space is taken up by stairs, but it is visually open). The light fixture is about 24 x 30 inches and hangs down far enough so that it is centered in the window. It seems a bit small to me, but it was the best option at the time within a reasonable budget. I wasn't willing to spend four thousand dollars for the fixture I really wanted.

• Joe
    10 years ago

We have a foyer light that measures 33 inches tall by 19 inches wide. Out of the box it appeared huge.

Our foyer dimensions are 11 feet 3 inches long by 6 feet 8 inches wide. The ceiling is vaulted with the peak at 17 feet. The foyer is open on 2 sides.

We feel the size of the light is in perfect scale with the foyer. You may want to consider a light which is somewhat smaller in width than 33 inches.

Good luck with your decision.
    ~bgj

• bevangel_i_h8_h0uzz
    10 years ago