Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelhuck_gw

Critiques requested for my pencil drawn plans, please!

kelhuck
12 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm so nervous just to be typing this message up! :) I have a set of plans that I have been working on for a few months, and I feel like I am finally happy with them. Would you mind taking a look at the first floor and giving me your opinion? I've learned alot from this forum, and I've tried to keep these lessons in mind as I developed the plan.

A little about us- we are a young family with 4 children (ages 7 and under), might end up with a 5th child someday. I also foresee a grandparent joining us sometime down the road. We are the primary holiday hosts on both sides of our family, and entertain friends frequently, so I'm excited to have a larger kitchen and multiple seating areas.

The house will face South on a hill on almost 6 acres in the Midwest. It will be a simple farmhouse exterior- nothing fancy. We hope to build the house with SIPS.

Please forgive the rough pencil drawings, and the fact that I couldn't figure out how to merge the drawings together. The plan was drawn on graph paper, with 1 square = 1 sq ft.

Thanks so much in advance!!!

{{gwi:1509554}}

{{gwi:1509555}}

Comments (9)

• kelhuck
    Original Author
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Should mention that we'll have a second laundry closet upstairs where most of the dirty clothes will be.

Also will have a full, unfinished basement (to be finished later if needed.)

I'm not sure about the stairs. I'd like a stair with a landing to protect against major falls (thanks for that, chisue). We will have 9 foot ceilings on first floor, so I don't know if the dimensions I've allowed for the stairs will actually allow for the stairs I'd like. I'll also need to place a set of stairs to the basement, once I find out if the (up)stairs are ok.

• pps7
    12 years ago

Overall works pretty well.

A few quick thoughts: