Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thedispatcher

Home construction question...

thedispatcher
9 years ago

Hi everyone, I'm new here so I'm sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find it...

We are building a house on family owned property.... We had the house pad and road put in last August and hope to start building in a month.

We got a simple quote from our builder and it appears he's charging 10% to build the house. Is that normal? I've never built a house before and neither has anyone else I know. I don't mind the fee but my husband is questioning it.

Another thing... Since we had our house pad put in a year ago, it's grown some weeds and grass... Our builder wants the dirt guy to come back out and take off a foot of dirt and redo the top so that there isn't any vegetation... Is that necessary? I can't see why it would be necessary..

One more (for now), we've come to a bit of a standstill waiting on a couple quotes for cabinets and electricity. We can't go and apply for a construction loan without a completed quote, and at that point it'll be another 3 weeks before it'll go through. We're currently living in a camper and the longer it takes the more irritated with our builder we are becoming.. What is a reasonable time to wait for quotes like that? It's been 5 weeks since he started gathering quotes.

Again, sorry if these questions have been asked. My husband is getting irritated and I'm trying to keep an open mind. Thanks in advance.

Comments (8)

• Michelle
    9 years ago

Yes, 10% is normal for GC fee. And, five weeks is too long to wait. We gave our subs two weeks to quote.

• thedispatcher
    Original Author
    9 years ago