Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jacqueocs_gw

Oak flooring...

jacqueocs
16 years ago

Hi! Our GC is recommending a solid Oak flooring. It is 3/4 of an inch thick and 2 1/4 wide. It has a guarantee of 10 years. Needless to say I've never built a house from the ground up before, nor have I ever had hard wood flooring. So this is all new to me. Is Oak flooring at that thickness a good choice? The entire house will be hard wood flooring. Never do I want carpet again...another story. Thanks for any info anyone can share.

Have a great wknd!!

Comments (22)

• bus_driver
    16 years ago

It is a good choice. In some respects, the best choice. Narrow boards cup less and remain flatter. It will not trap dirt like carpet and produces minimal dust from ordinary use. We have a tile foyer, which I also like. We change to "house shoes" (moccasins) in the foyer and wear those in the house to minimize scuffing of the floor finish.

• jacqueocs
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Great idea about the moccasins, thanks for that. Thanks for responding!!

• sue36
    16 years ago

3/4" is the normal thickness. 2 1/4" wide is called strip flooring. If the rooms are large you might want to go with a wider board (3" -4"). But that is aethetics, not function.

If it is guaranteed for 10 years I assume it is a prefinished product? Make sure you look at it before hand, installed. Prefinished flooring has a bevel edge between the boards. Some people don't mind it, others do.

Site finished is another option.

Are you doing red oak or white oak?

• jacqueocs
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi Sue,

Thanks for sharing. We like the look of what we've saw of the Oak flooring. We'll have one room that is quite big, so the wider boards would look better, glad you thought of that! We're thinking of red Oak. Thanks for responding.

• sue36
    16 years ago