Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brian_the_architect

Building on Bedrock - foundation styles

Hello Everyone :)

This is my first thread here - I've been lurking for a longgg time and my lurking has been more frequent lately so I figured I should sign up.

I am an architect by trade and have been building and designing homes for quite a while. I've been surrounded by construction my whole life, and me and my wife will be building our first home shortly.

I have an interesting scenario that I thought I should run past all the creative people here. I have acquired a property (50+ acres) which we will be building on. However, the property is 90% surface granite bedrock, and anything that is not is only 1-2 feet of topsoil.

In my professional experience I have never dealt with a property this challenging, and I have narrowed my problem down to three scenarios, relating to the foundation type.

1) Full foundation

Pros:

Would allow for a full basement - but wouldn't change the ground size we are planning on building.

Cons:

We would need to bring in fill to surround the house and essentially create an artificial hill for the house to sit on.

2) Shallow Foundation

Pros:

Cheaper that option #1 (less fill and less concrete)

Cons:

No usable basement, just crawlspace.

3) No Foundation - just structural slab on grade

Pros:

Cheapest option - fastest build and least headache.

Cons:

No basement

Mechanical nightmare (attic furnace/difficult plumbing).

We are leaning towards option 3, as we would be having a radiant flooring system either way and this option would take the best advantage of that. The house is also designed for passive solar, both for the heating and ventilation. I've uploaded a photo of the property. There is a large wetland on the property that floods in the spring, so we will be deeping it in the fall so that it will retain water year round and be a nice lake - already got environmental approval.

What do you think would be the best option and why?