Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
virgilcarter_gw

Negative Message About Architects

virgilcarter
11 years ago

Am I the only one that is offended by the negative message at the top of the screen about architects (...taking your money...)? Come on moderator and sponsors of this site: there's no reason for being critical or negative about anyone or any profession.

Knock it off!

Comments (18)

• bjewell1
    11 years ago

I don't think it's meant to be offensive, I think it's meant more as a joke. I guess I can't speak for how the architects that visit this site feel, but I'm a dentist and I don't take any of the evil dentist jokes seriously.

• CamG
    11 years ago

Oh heavens. At my lawfirm, we have a painting entitled "Counsel Approaches the Bench" and it shows two sharks swimming up to the judge...

If I was an architect, I would put that quote up in my office! We should all laugh at ourselves a bit more often!

• virgilcarter
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Yes, of course, there's a humorous side to the saying. There's a big difference in humor expressed in one's private environment and humor expressed in a large public setting, with visitors of a wide range of experience in design and construction.

It would be much more humorous however, and less offensive, if there were humorous comments about every other profession and trade involved with building and gardening. Or, better yet, if no profession or trade was the butt of public jokes here!

As it is, at it's best, it's simply humor at the expense of one profession, and at it's worst it's humor that unfairly (and unnecessarily) demeans a profession in a public setting.

This isn't the Comedy Channel.

Moderators, please make some effort to be humorous about everyone or no one!

How about being humorous about the building and gardening process, rather than about those individuals who labor in them?

• Annie Deighnaugh
    11 years ago