Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fhbh2000

FINALLY finished plans...next electrical

Bridget19
9 years ago

We finally figured out our house plans and now we are moving on to electrical.

We are going to add recessed lighting in every room, looking for any other feedback or suggestions??

Comments (5)

• A Lleux
    9 years ago

This is my very first time posting, but we aren't far ahead of you. We should be starting our build in another month or so. Electrical plans were SO hard for us, but we will get to do a walk through with the electrician after framing to make changes. Make sure you consider floor plugs in your large open living space. I also determined where I will put the Christmas tree and have that outlet on a switch so I don't have to crawl behind the tree to unplug lights. Eave outlets with switches to control. Imagine walking through each area and determine where you will need 3-way switches. We put an outlet on the fireplace mantel with a switch. Outlets in drawers/cabinets in the master bath for blow dryer, electric toothbrush, shaver, etc. Undercabinet lighting. I wanted my kitchen outlets mounted underneath the cabinets instead of on the backsplash. I put an outlet in the walk-in pantry and one in a laundry room cabinet for a handheld vacuum to charge. Lots of outlets outside. We put an extra 220 V in the garage. We are also running coax/cable in every bedroom. You can at least run conduit in the walls for future wiring of that. We are also installing an automatic generator so the electrician will install the transfer switch with rough-in. Think about placement of your breaker box and meter. Also you'll want to keep the generator as close as possible to all of that, if you are considering a generator. I still feel like we went crazy with recessed lighting so I'm kind of worried it will be too much, but I HATE a dark house. The bedrooms have a little natural light, but those windows will mostly stay covered so I want plenty of light.