Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tuifeathers

Least Toxic Insulation Products?

tuifeathers
10 years ago

We are in the process of building a new home and it is time to choose insulation. Our builder generally uses open-cell foam in the attic space and batted fiberglass in the exterior walls.

I am very concerned about toxicity and have been researching the least toxic products.

Through my research, I have learned that if installed properly, the open-cell foam should not continually off-gas.

My problem is choosing between the Johns Manville Formaldehyde-free insulation (fiberglass) and a Rock Wool product for the exterior walls.

Any help and/or suggestions would be appreciated!

Comments (8)

• Oaktown
    10 years ago

Hi tuifeathers,

I'm no expert but we are using a "green consultant" for our house (in our location some kind of green rating is required for new residential construction). We are using a mineral wool board for the exterior insulation and open cell spray foam for the interior insulation. There was a long discussion about whether we would prefer dense pack or damp-spray cellulose on the interior -- that would have been the first choice of the green consultant. Second choice would have been the JM spyder(?) blown fiberglass but apparently the installers around here were not familiar with that and we did not want to be guinea pigs.

You might also post your question on the Green Building Advisor site.

Good luck!

• PRO
    Epiarch Designs
    10 years ago

most open cell foams these days use water as a blowing agent, so after they off gas right away, they are typically fine.
    blown cellulose or fiberglass is another good (and better) option than the batts.

I do question why the expense of open cell in the attic yet batts in the walls? Its like putting a cooler lid on a cardboard box....

• energy_rater_la
    10 years ago

." Our builder generally uses open-cell foam in the attic space and batted fiberglass in the exterior walls."