Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iamweasel66

What is a good H.E.R.S. Score?

iamweasel
10 years ago

So I'm new to this and looking to build a house on a lot we own. The builder I'm currently leaning toward says his home will have a HERS score around 60.

This is for a 2-story (1st floor master) 4,000sq ft, 5-bed/5-bath home and 3-car attached garage.

Is 60 good - or do I need to try and do better?

Comments (21)

• LuAnn_in_PA
    10 years ago

Google is your friend...

here is just one article

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Home_energy_rating

Here is a link that might be useful: HERS

• iamweasel
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, LuAnn....I have read all that before but what I don't get out of that is if 60 is really good in this day and age. I was looking for some feedback on what others have been seeing in their homes to know if really 60 is good or not. I really don't know where today's standards are in regards to this. I know 100 is the baseline but I don't have a good feel for what kind of home that represents.

• energy_rater_la
    10 years ago

HERS 100 point house is least efficient.
    goal is a zero energy house with HERS score 0.

however, without ground source heat pump,
    solar panels, top tier insulation package etc
    most houses that are efficient...(mid to high
    range hvac system, better windows, tight
    construction) rate in the 60-70 range.

bigger houses have more leeway than smaller
    homes. in a small home every componet has
    to be just right, where as in larger homes there
    are more tradeoffs.

it takes a LOT to get a home below 60 points.
    what efficiency upgrades are included in your package?

also...if the energy rater works for the builder, they can
    do 'batch testing' meaning one of every 6 homes is tested.
    personally I've worked more with homeowners hiring me than with production builders, this way the homeowner
    pays for my expertiese rather than the builder. homeowner