Return to the Building a Home Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
can a kitchen be too big?

Posted by slkinpa (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 5, 07 at 22:51

Hi, I have been looking at this site for a few months now and I love it! I am in the very beginning stages of house building. We are just working on our house plans. I can't decide on the size of kitchen I want. I know the house will be between 2800 and 3000 square feet and I want to have the biggest kitchen possible, but do you think a kitchen can be too big and not flow with the rest of the house? I want to make sure I have plenty of counterspace and cabinets and I want an island with a prep sink in it. Ideally I want the kitchen to be at least 15'x16',not including the breakfast room, but I don't want it to look out of place. I hope you can understand this and it wasn't too confusing. Any suggestions would be great. I am a complete novice when it comes to this kind of stuff. Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: can a kitchen be too big?

15 X 16 is not too large a kitchen.

o

It's only too big if it's not laid out correctly and you get worn out from having to walk too much.LOL

o

our last house was 2700 sq feet on 2 levels and our kitchen was 12' x 19' in an L shape with an island. Part of the space also included an area for a table, and the rear wall had a patio door that walked out to the deck. The size was ok for 2 people - but would have been better with a few extra feet in both dimensions. The refrig was not built in so it stuck out and did not look right. We also figured out (as we were getting ready to sell) that using a small bistro table with 2 chairs made the space look a lot bigger instead of a larger table for 4 - and opened up the area for the door leading to the deck.