Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtguy_gw

Floor Plan Review / Ideas for Small Upgrades

MTguy
10 years ago

I have already accepted a bid for this floor plan, but I would appreciate any advice on small tweaks I could make here. My builder and I have a good relationship and I have the ability to make small changes "as we go." I am also looking for small upgrades I can do myself. Some of the upgrades I am considering are electric radiant flooring in the master bath, towel warmer in the master bath, and automatic lights in the pantry/mudroom/master closet. If anyone is interested, I'm just getting started but I am going to do a home build blog at www.ultimatehomestead.com

Here is a link that might be useful: www.ultimatehomestead.com

Comments (31)

• Karen15
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Will the door to your pantry be a regular door or will it be similar to your cabinets? I'm only asking because I like your placement and could possibly put a walk in as well in mine but wonder what that door looks like.

• MTguy
    Original Author
    10 years ago

It will be a "regular" door. I am still considering doing a frosted glass insert in the door, but like everything else I want to do... it costs more money. Right now it is a white 6 panel door to match the rest of the interior doors. The pantry/cabinet layout is what led me to this floor plan. It is much less expensive to build a pantry like this than to install a bunch of cabinets in the kitchen to store the same things. As an aside, my cabinets are all white painted maple and my island is an ebony stained maple of the same design.

• kirkhall
    10 years ago

If you DIY your radiant floors, make sure your electrician knows in advance so the circuit is run. You need a home run/dedicated circuit for radiant in the bathroom.

• MTguy
    Original Author
    10 years ago