Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christie25_gw

Building vs buying home costs?

christie25
9 years ago

I'm very new to this. For high end homes does it ever make more financial sense to buy the plot of land and then design/build it yourself? (with a general contractor and architect)

Do you guys have any idea how much it would cost to build a house like this?

http://www.zillow.com/homedetails/40-Fox-Hill-Rd-Woodside-CA-94062/15600329_zpid/

It's basically perfect but the location isn't ideal and it's rather expensive. Is this an avenue worth pursuing or should I just keep an eye out for the perfect house?

Comments (13)

• kudzu9
    9 years ago

What size and price range you are considering? You link is to a 9000 square foot house on 19 acres for $7.5 M. I suspect this is not the type of home most people on this forum have experience with...

• carsonheim
    9 years ago

Typical per-square-foot prices for homes are highly localized. Anywhere from 200-400 and up, depending on where you build. Here in my part of Texas, this house would cost probably about $1.8 million, because this are is relatively inexpensive. Move this house to the Northeast, Chicago, LA or San Francisco and you're looking at probably 3.5 million and up.

Plus land....

• Oaktown
    9 years ago

I expect it would cost you quite a bit more than the $7.5M if you were to buy a similar property and try to build the same house today. It actually seems like a pretty good deal if this is the kind of home you are looking for -- plus I've heard that building approvals in that particular town can be pretty slow. Location is a big deal -- look at the pricing for new construction spec homes in the area you're considering, I doubt you will do much better than those prices starting from scratch, especially once you factor in your carrying costs.

Have you talked to local builders yet? Some of them will help you from the very start, even with looking for a property. Good luck!

• christie25
    Original Author