Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
turtle3639

foundation wall hit by bulldozer

turtle3639
10 years ago

Hi! We are just starting to build our new home. Friday, I went to check on things and noticed a big crack in the foundation wall. I called our builder and he said,"yeah, the bulldozer guy "bumped" it. But he assured me he would take of of it- I went back out there 3 days later and the crack was much wider. I called him again, and he said I'll fill it in this this super bonding agent. I told him I didn't like that and he said Well, now I've been doing this for many years. Please check out pictures and see what you think. Should I call the building inspector for my area? I hate to make the builder mad so early in the building process!! Thanks! turtle

Comments (33)

• rebel222
    10 years ago

I would require that an engineer inspect that and sign off on whatever solution your builder offers. Obviously, this should be done at the dozer company's expense.

• galore2112
    10 years ago

Why would the crack expand over time? Looks like it may be shifting?

• Spottythecat
    10 years ago

How tall is that wall? We had the same thing happen with our stem wall that was 3 courses high (24 inches). The builder knocked down that section and rebuilt it. Yours look like it is much higher?

Pam

• turtle3639
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The wall is 7 feet high, it is the back right corner of the house. The lot slopes towards the back so we will have a high back porch. The cracked area will be below the covered back porch.

• turtle3639
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is another picture.

• kirkhall
    10 years ago

Engineer all the way.

• LOTO
    10 years ago

There is no way I would accept that work even fixed with the super duper bonding agent. For a crack to be that wide I assume that the wall is not straight anymore.

• Spottythecat
    10 years ago

I agree...engineer. It may have disturbed the whole wall where it is pushed off the footer too...