Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chloenkitty_gw

Last but toughest decision in new build

chloenkitty
9 years ago

We are nearing the finish line in our new build yay! I have to make a decision on what has been the biggest thorn in my side, decision-wise with this home.

Our family room and kitchen are open to each other. Kitchen has 9' ceilings, white cabinetry, light counters and backsplash. Family room has 16' ceilings, one wall has French doors and all windows, and the short wall has 3 windows on each side up to the ceiling flanking where the fireplace will be. The floors are armstrong American scrape 5" hand scraped hickory in a dark, but not too dark wood. Wall color is a light (not too light) taupe.

Apparently the style is transitional. I thought it was called soft contemporary, but im no designer, so I'm told it's transitional. The fireplace is the thorn in my side. There is obviously room for a floor to ceiling stone fireplace, but I just don't know if I want one. I like them and I don't. IF I did one, I think I'd like it to be in softer colors like soft white, light tan and gray stones. I also love a white wood mantle with a beautiful facade like mother of pearl or a mixed glass mosaic in neutral colors. I say that because I love to decorate my mantle in white candles, crystal or silver holders and white flowers. During christmas, I do pretty much the same, white and silver, a little gold. If I did the white mantle, I would get a large tall custom mirror over it to add height because of the 16' ceilings and windows flanking the fireplace. I'm very torn.

This is the one thing I just cannot decide on, it's driving me crazy. I posted about this awhile ago in home decorating and mlweaving did some awesome photoshop pics for me, I appreciated it.

I'll post a few pics. Wish I knew how to post more than one at a time so I don't have to keep posting new replies, but I don't know how to do that. Thank you.

This pic is a bit old, but you get the idea of the wall.