Return to the Building a Home Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Look at our plan, please!

Posted by Parkview603 (My Page) on
Fri, Jul 13, 12 at 15:02

This is my first time posting but based on what I have read, everyone is very helpful here!

We are planning to build a home soon. We meet with our builder/contractor next week to look at the lot and talk about our plan. Before we go, I wanted some other eyes to check it out.

We are early 30s, 2 young girls (maybe a third someday, but doubtful!) and plan to stay here for about 15 years. We are choosing between some wooded lots in our current subdivision that are around 1.3 acres.

Here is the plan we have chosen -
http://www.eplans.com/house-plans/epl/hwepl01441.html

Photobucket

Photobucket

We will have an unfinished walkout basement (for now).

I know we want to add space for a mudroom off the garage (move the laundry room over) but other than that, we really like this plan as it is. We will use one of the bedrooms upstairs as a playroom. Are there other things we are missing? Thanks!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Look at our plan, please!

Walk-in closet for Suite#2 is too narrow. Of course I don't have dimensions but, as drawn, wall-to-wall the closet is exactly the same width as the staircase. So I'm guessing it is either 36" or 42" wide...certainly not more than that. Clothing on hangers sticks out 24" from the wall. That means you would have an aisle only 12" to 18" wide to walk down to reach anything hung at the far end from the door! I'd move the front closet wall in by 12" (so the closet is normal reach-in depth) and then use two sets of bifold doors on it. Moving the wall in would help to reduce door interference between the bifolds and the bedroom door. Or, get old-fashioned rolling track doors for the closet.

I'm also not a fan of two-story great rooms. Run a search here on GW to read about issues with heating/cooling problems and noise transmission with two story great rooms.