Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lrod3324

Feedback on layout

lrod3324
10 years ago

I found this site not too long ago and love all of the information. Some background.....this will be a traditional farmhouse design with basement on an 8 acre wooded site in the south. This is the second go around for the main floor. We like it so far but think there needs to be a door into the garage from the pool area. We're concerned if someone is occupying the pool bath you have to enter through the great room, which I personally would like to avoid. Also, I feel like the refrigerator is placed far away from the stove/sink. However, I like that if we're coming in from the pool for drinks or snacks that it's close to the mudroom doorway.

Anyhow....any feedback/thoughts on what we have so far? Thanks

Comments (10)

• GreenVTtoNY
    10 years ago

Hi! Your plan looks very thoughtfully laid out. I'm not very good at looking at floor plans and finding flaws but there were a few things I noticed.

I do think you need a door to the pool other then through the pool bath. I couldn't read the dimensions on the garage but I've seen some garages that have almost no space to maneuver around, especially with an SUV parked in it. If you plan on using the garage as a walk-through to the pool just make sure you have aisle space.

In your guest bath, if you think you'll have elderly parents or others visiting with limited mobility you may want to use a walk-in shower or a tub that is easy to step into.