Return to the Building a Home Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help on plans

Posted by frozenelves8 (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 16, 14 at 1:21

We are closing on our house next month so I'm hoping to get the ball rolling on building in the next few months. I've been working on house plans for 5 years now and have a couple that Iike but want to focus on one now. This one began with some plans that CamG had on here and gave me permisssion to work with. I altered it quite a bit to suit us but still not happy with a couple of areas.

We have 7 kids, but one lives away at college and likely won't be home to live again only to visit. My kids range in age from high school to toddler. I don't like open concept (too loud) and I want big public rooms for when we are all together and we begin to have grandkids.

The dining room and master bedrooom windowsare wrong so ignore that. Also, I want to add 2 feet to the front of the house. Here's what I don't like. The master bathroom and closet are bothering me. I want my husband to have a separate closet or at least a separate area in a shared closet that I don't have to walk through. I also have a claw foot tub that I want to use. I want to be able to walk all the way around it for cleaning. The other thing is that I would like to put a third window so that it matches up with the 3 windows on the first level. That might not be possible. I am also open to pushing the windows together on the main level below if it has to. In the basement, the room that says office is a storage room. The designer that I paid to put these on the computer made a bunch of mistakes. I am old school (have a degree in Interior Design but raised kids instead of working) and use paper and drafting tools. I'm a little rusty and I wish I knew how to do the computer plans, but alas, I don't. Anyway, I'm looking for fresh perspectives.

photo 3rdfloor.png

photo 3ebcee3f-55ce-4eaf-acc4-9db0f0a73dc4.png

photo 1stfloorbigger.png

photo 2ndfloor.png

photo basement.png