Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeff2013_gw

draft house plan for review

jeff2013
10 years ago

I am glad to find this forum. I am going to blog my building process here.

We just purchsased a lot and would like to finalize our floor plan to move forward asap. It is a corner lot with front facing south. There is a west street to right side. The lot is somewhat narrow (70ft by 130ft). The max buildable width is 53ft. We would like to have a rear entry garage without alley access. I have been working on the plan for the last two months. I found a designer and I am waiting for him to draw the preliminary plan for me. Here is what I have for the main floor. Any comment/suggestion on how to improve the plan is highly appreciated. Thank you in advance! Jf

Comments (53)

• kirkhall
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Floorplanner is nice and all, but you need to get this cleaned up by your designer; work out the dimensional kinks (you have more than the laundry and downstairs powder that are off); and then repost a clean designed plan.

Generally, I like it. But, I think to spend too much time on commenting is futile at this point as a 3'10" wide powder room is not possible; nor is the little toilet room you have for the upstairs.

• jeff2013
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Kirkhall, thank you for your comments.

OK. I am posting the preliminary done by the designer on the first floor that I just received. He is waiting for my inputs to start the 2nd floor. It is nice to see that half bath was increased to 5'. I do have some comments that I am going to discuss with him later today.
    1. Starcase. The current design has the entrace blocking the direct way between living and guest bath/coat. Would there be better flow to align the stare entry with the powder as in my draft?
    2. Sitting area/Patio. The sitting area looks too small to me in comparision to my draft. I would rather to have a smaller patio.