Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buildiva22

Questions about buying materials online

buildiva22
11 years ago

I am a newbie here. We just closed our lot 2 months ago and have picked out and purchased our floor plan. Yippie! DH and I are overjoyed! We will be doing cost+ contract with our builder and are given allowance to use on certain items. For example, our builder has shown us a preliminary quote from a supplier on different plumbing fixtures and based on that he gave us the allowance. For the same plumbing fixture or sink, we can find much better deals comparing to the quotes that the builder got, considering the builder has a relationship with the supplier with discounts already.

Did any of you buy most of the materials online yourself? How does that work if you buy your own fixtures online for the builder to use? Were you still be able to roll your expenses into your mortgage?

Comments (15)

• mydreamhome
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Nothing wrong with buying your materials online, but there are some things to know--

1) The builder will not warranty the item--only the install. So let's say you buy your faucets online, the builder's plumber installs and the faucet later fails causing a flood in your bath or kitchen. If it's determined that it was the faucet and not the install that was responsible, you are on the hook for replacing all damaged items--cabinetry, flooring, handling the warranty stuff to get a new faucet, etc. However, if you got the faucet through the builder's supplier and it failed, then he and the plumber are responsible for replacing all the damaged items--cabinetry, flooring, warranty on faucet, etc.