Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jdonl061

Country Property

jdonl061
9 years ago

Hi everyone
I am new to the homebuilding forum. I tried searching for a previous post similar to this but couldn't find anything so I apologize if this has already been answered.
We are likely putting a conditional offer on 80 acres of land (mix of open fields, forest, and wetlands) tomorrow with the hope of building a country style 5 or 6 bedroom home. We are a family of 6 who has outgrown our 3 bedroom home and just had our fourth baby. I am feeling overwhelmed at how to start the process. Should I first find a builder and bring them to the site? Who determines if the site is really able to be built on - is that the builder or the county? Are there obvious risks in this process I should be aware of? Thank you in advance for any advice you might have to share.

Comments (7)

• snoonyb
    9 years ago

It's who ever in the area issues building permits for that parcel and there will be restrictions when dealing with wetlands.

• duvetcover
    9 years ago

Has a percolation test been done? Do you know how large a home (how many bedrooms) a perc test will allow? Are there utilities hooked up? A well? Lots of things to inquire about. Any easements? Does selling agent have any info? Your agent, if you have one, should be helping guide you through. And yes, wetlands can be a real issue.

• mushcreek
    9 years ago

We went through this buying our place, although it's only 7 acres.

We had a perk test done before buying. There are alternatives- very expensive.

We researched various properties on the local GIS site- see if your area has one. It was a good way to look for flood zones, soil types, topography, even crime statistics. You can investigate the surrounding areas to make sure you're not going to be down wind of a sewage treatment plant or hog farm.