Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
morselofjoy_gw

Please critque our plan...novice looking for wisdom

morselofjoy
10 years ago

I am new to home design but have spent the last year trying to perfect this plan. We are having a CADD designer draw up the official blueprints in the next week or so and I decided I should post it to Garden Web first to get any last minute advice...since changes after I start with the designer will cost extra. You can view the plan HERE along with a few 3D renderings of the inside and outside. Please keep in mind that this home will be for 8 people - 2 adults and 6 children and long term it is likely to house an additional 2-3 adults (aging parents and siblings with special needs). Also, we home school our children...the home school room is clearly labeled. Looking forward to your feedback!

Comments (43)

• mrspete
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I won't claim to be more than a novice myself, but looking with a fresh set of eyes I see a couple things:

First floor:

- Looking at the floorplan, I'm not sure where the "entrance" is. Perhaps it'd be more clear if I were a guest actually walking towards the house -- I mean, if I could see steps up to the porch, etc.

- You could save money by "flattening out" the wall that includes a bump-out for the staircase and a bump-in for the sitting area /powder room /network closet. Flat walls are always less expensive than walls with bumps. . . . Update -- now that I've studied the upstairs, I see that you need that bump-out space for the staircase, but you could still flatten out the other spots.