Return to the Building a Home Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Greywater System...anyone used them?

Posted by aimless07 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 29, 14 at 17:21

We saw a demonstration of a greywater system and we are VERY interested. Essentially the system takes your used sink water, shower/bath water, and laundry water and runs it through a filter. It then uses that water to help water your landscape. The blackwater piping has water used for toilets and kitchen water is not used. (As far as I can tell. I'm still learning.)

We have strict watering guidelines here. You can only water your lawn on a certain days based on the last number of your address. Since you use greywater to water your lawn, those restrictions don't apply to you so you can have landscaping and keep it alive.

We are going to investigate this more with our builder, but I am curious if anyone here has used one. The idea of it is so brilliant that it sounds too good to be true. It'll be easier to put this in during the building phase too although they say you can do it later.

The cost is about $5,000 which they say is only slightly more expensive than a regular sprinkler system. But this whole idea just seems so much more responsible.

This post was edited by aimless07 on Sun, Jun 29, 14 at 18:10

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Greywater System...anyone used them?

I hope you can make it work! Our architect looked into this, but it was going to be quite expensive because of additional requirements from the local government, and the architect couldn't get a definitive answer as to whether the health dept would approve it for a residence. Though plenty of businesses seem to have them...

o

If we ever build again, we will look into it. I mistakenly thought we couldn't have one here, so I didn't research it.

What does the $5000 cover? The extra piping, the tank and burying the tank?

o

As water gets more precious, greywater will look like a wasted resource.