Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scrubalinda

Checklist when reviewing floorplan

Scrubalinda
12 years ago

This is my first time to build a custom home and I am getting into the final reviews of the floorplan and want to make sure I don't miss anything... or at least, don't miss much. Does anyone know of a checklist of items you should review that you may not necessarily think of? Like which way the door swings, or which wall has the light switch, etc.

Comments (3)

• periwinkle18
    12 years ago

I had friends and family who had built houses before check through my plan before we finalized. Experience is such a helpful thing!

• mydreamhome
    12 years ago

You're on the right track with the door swings & light switches. Posting your floorplan here on GW would allow many eyes to help review it for you (If you need help with posting it, let us know & we'll walk you through it). As far as a list goes, I'd add:

-Double checking clearance width in all walkways (3' being the absolute minimum with 4' or more preferable).

-Are the right toilets specced on the plan--round vs. elongated--having round on the plan can make a big difference if you're actually planning for elongated.

-Making sure your furniture will fit the rooms with their current window/door openings by doing a to-scale furniture layout (don't forget kids grow up and you may want to put a larger bed in their room one day so make sure that size bed fits as well both by width & length (queens and kings are both wider and longer than twins & doubles). Make sure to double check those light switches & door swings once you have the furniture in place on the plan, too.