Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelaz_gw

Input on this house plan?

AngelaZ
10 years ago

Hi guys! I'm loving this forum! Thanks to all who take the time to participate and share their experience and knowledge!

My husband and I just bought some beautiful land and hope to start building sometime this year. We are both total newbies at this, so are feeling a combination of excitement and terror! ha!

We have found one particular houseplan that we both like quite a bit. We do want to do brick instead of a siding and most likely won't do a tin roof. I'm a little nervous about how those changes will have on the look of the exterior.

I thought maybe I could post it here and get some input on both our exterior changes and also your thoughts on the floorplan. I'm generally pretty happy with the floorplan, but I sometimes have problems visualizing these types of things and seeing the small changes that would be beneficial.

Any thoughts? And has anyone had any experience with this particular plan? Thank you!!

"Potential house plan"

Comments (20)

• live_wire_oak
    10 years ago

{{gwi:1456607}}
    {{gwi:1456608}}
    {{gwi:1456609}}

The total charm of that farmhouse look is the siding and the metal roof. And the porch that suits that style of home. If you want a brick house, pick something else to build. Either adopt that look wholeheartedly and enthusiastically or look to a different style that would be appropriate to a boxy style build like that. Like a Colonial. Which wouldn't have the porch.

The facade is the best part about the house. The interior isn't bad. Say a solid B-. But, it could be so much better.