Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peteley

Floor plan review... Please

peteley
11 years ago

I've been reading on here for months and this is my first time posting. I would really appreciate your comments regarding our floor plan. Our house goal is to keep the house easy to build, functional, and low maintenance, so we're avoiding any bump outs or roof lines. We live in small community in MN and have two girls (ages 5 and 8). We�re building on 40 acres that has a southern exposure. We're planning on ICF construction. Our supplier indicated the footprint should account for the extra 6 inches (34'6" x 46'6" to avoid having to cut a block). We plan to have a walkout basement, exposed on the South and East, the kids� bedrooms will be in the lower level. We�ll have a 10ft covered porch on the entire West side of the house. The floor plan doesn�t currently have windows indicated but we�d like to incorporate a passive solar design and would love any recommendations. We plan to retire in this home so we�ll have 36" doors and aren�t concerned about resale. We�re not sure about the layout of the bathroom. I don't have access to floor plan software so I apologize for the rough hand drawing.

Comments (7)

• okpokesfan
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I"m no expert but just a few thoughts on first glance. 9x11 1/2 seems very tight for a dining area, especially since it appears to be a main walkthrough area. Same goes for the living room.

The bathroom area seems awkward--it would be helpful to see the layout of tub/shower, etc. I would also not want to share my master bath with the rest of the household as well as guests, which it appears you have this set up for.

It would also be helpful to know how many total square feet you are aiming for, how your family functions, etc.

Good luck!

• lavender_lass
    11 years ago

I really like your plan! I think the dining room is plenty big enough, since the walkway is not included in the dimensions.