Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marsee_gw

Does anyone like this better??

marsee
12 years ago

I posted my plans a few weeks ago and got back mostly negative reviews. This is my latest version and I was just wondering if anyone liked this set better? Feel free to comment either way. Thanks!

Comments (5)

• sunshinedog
    12 years ago

Hi Marsee,

I've been lurking for over a year. This is my first time replying. We just finished building a home, so I can feel your pain.

I'm sure your home will be lovely. The planning stage can be overwhelming.

Here are a few of my comments:

Have you considered having your side entry open into the mud room? It would contain the mess.

For such a large home, there doesn't appear to be many windows. Your garage has more windows! If it were my home, I would want more windows in my master, dining room and games room. (The outdoor storage is taking up space that could open up another window for the master)

I would worry about the noise from the utility room since it is so close to the bedrooms and shares the great room wall. The spin cycles on the powerful washers can make noise. It may limit the times you'll feel comfortable doing laundry. Can it be moved somewhere on the garage side of the house - maybe swap it with the office?

If your husband doesn't need that big of a closet, I would make the shower larger. Seems tiny for such a large home.

Good luck.

• davidinnsb
    12 years ago

Personally I would change the office - pantry layout. By switching places and putting the pantry opening off the office area instead of a door in the hall you can "pop" in and out of the office from the kitchen area. I find myself doing this all day long. BUT if you want a private office your layout works better.

I agree with Boerboel, I would like a door into the mud room.

• chicagoans
    12 years ago

Is bedroom 2 upstairs? Just wondering because I don't see it on here but I see BR 3.