Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurajane02

I'd like to double check (master bath layout)

laurajane02
11 years ago

I've gotten so much help from this forum so far. We are currently framing the main floor. Here's the layout for the master bath and closet:

Is there anything that I should change? I'm planning to make the door to the master bath a pocket door, but otherwise, I don't see any major problem areas. But then, I'm not an expert at all, so I'd like to double check here.

Thanks!

Laura

Comments (12)

• kirkhall
    11 years ago

Is that the entry door to your master bedroom on the diagonal by the closet? (It took me a while to see that it probably is, and isn't another closet).

I don't know how your log framed house needs to line up, but do you need to have the wall between the bathroom and closet at the door end where it is?
    I think I would be inclined to line it up (without the jog) with the bathroom wall in the area of the vanity (just extend that straight to the bedroom). And, move the closet door to the left. With a pocket door to your bathroom, this would allow you or a future person to have a double master vanity easily (or you can simply extend the length of your single sink vanity). If you frame it like it is drawn, you really can't get that second sink in there ever.

And, I don't think the jog serves anything except to tuck the doors against a wall. Given that you won't be tucking one of the doors (since it will be a pocket), and you won't lose any closet hanging space to move your closet door, that would be my preference.

The one draw back to my idea is that you will have to slightly close your bedroom door to walk straight into the closet, but the added vanity space in the bathroom would be worth it to me.

• laurajane02
    Original Author
    11 years ago

kirkhall~ I'll have to see if that log beam was flattened for the wall... If not, then I could definitely remove the jog. You make some great points!