Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teacher_guy

Newbie - 2nd floor addition - exterior design help needed

teacher_guy
9 years ago

Hi- I'm a single teacher w/ no design sense building a second floor addition to a 760 sq ft per level and would appreciate ANY exterior design advice.

- I have red brick 1st floor w/ basement, will have siding second floor (colour?) - faces NE.

- 1st floor - kitchen is on left and recessed living room on right, Pan shows recessed second floor (left) but want even front (each window (white) is a bedroom (exterior shutters? colours?). Thinking they should match design/colour of 1st floor windows (bigger?).

- Should I counter lever second floor to extend forward 3-4 ft? Might look top heavy (porch roof might disguise that???).

- Thinking about an elevated window between upper windows (centered over front door for balance (stained glass? - front door isn't but has a bevelled glass design).

- Not sure about roof design/colour or trim colour either. Paved driveway to the left.

- Keep sliding door to kitchen there or replace w/ window to make small kitchen bigger?

I've posted plans (question marks indicate should I use them too). Thanks for any input...really thanks!

Comments (11)

• GreenDesigns
    9 years ago

If you're going to introduce asymmetric detailing to the home, it would help if the entry was off center to balance the look. It's currently imbalanced because it tries too hard for symmetry with the wrong details.

• Annie Deighnaugh
    9 years ago

I would do everything I could to make it not look like an addition so keep the windows and the trim and the door all the same style. Use the same trim color top and bottom to help unite the two.
    {{gwi:1454985}}

Here is a link that might be useful: Bart's remodel

• palimpsest
    9 years ago

It would help a lot to see photos of the existing house and a floor plan. :)

• teacher_guy
    Original Author
    9 years ago