Return to the Building a Home Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
2nd Floor Addition - Basic Planning Advice - 1st Post

Posted by Teacher_Guy (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 15, 12 at 10:05

Newbie so thanks for understanding. I'm a teacher and just don't have a design gene/eye.

Frustrated because my Architect bypassed rough sketches going right to drawings but everything is in the wrong place! Trying to get a better handle on what can/should go where and how big should it be so I'd appreciate help w/ very basic placement ideas and dimension recommendations. Evaluation/ideas on even parts of this project are appreciated. 1st level plan attached. I have DWG files from survey and drawings if helpful.

Adding full second floor on existing footprint of 750 sq ft (w/ 750 sq ft finished basement) brick bungalow built in 1949 - concrete foundation. House faces East to street.
Recently renovated both upstairs (kitchen & bathroom to be done this yr) and downstairs. Added back deck and 4-season room on main level.

I like a classic look w/ natural light, views, efficiency, ingenuity (clever/multi-purpose/convertible use of spaces). I don't mind paying for value and would like to maximize present use and resale value.

Wants:

1) Would like a large back master bedroom - thinking whole SW side- w/ walk-in closet on N side of room.

2) Door to new upper level back deck (complete back span)

3) Fairly large bathroom w/ window (over existing bathroom for cost saving).

4) Preferably two bedrooms - E side (NE Bdrm can utilize cantilever over front indentation). One window each to balance front of house.

5) 42"+ staircase to upper level over new one to basement (so kitchen can be enlarged by moving existing basement stairs). Most likely spot - N side towards front. Realize this will make for smaller dining room but I only have it for resale purposes.

6) Replace sliding side door w/ high window to make that space usable as a seating area

7) Ideas kitchen space layout? Mini island?