Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
farmhousegirl_gw

Anyone knocked down a house for the lot?

farmhousegirl
11 years ago

We are trying to understand all of our options for finding a lot. Our target area is very small and land is scarce and expensive. We see a few small homes on beautiful lots. The homes cost the same as some of the empty lots

Anyone done this? Would love your insight and some idea of the cost. Thanks so much!

Comments (15)

• lavender_lass
    11 years ago

I'm not an expert, but I know you need to make sure what your zone is and if you can rebuild on the lot. Sometimes a house (or the septic) is grandfathered in, meaning you have to work with the original house. If that's not an issue, it might be worth looking into...but I'm sure you'll get more expert advice from others on the forum. You might want to think about hiring a professional, if things get too complicated, depending upon your area's regulations, zoning, etc.

• rmsaustin
    11 years ago

I've done it, sort of...had a house removed from a lot. In my neighborhood it is quite common to move or demo a house. It is so common that there are a couple of companies that specialize in removal or demolition. Another thing to consider is whether any of the house is reusable. In my case the company moved the house to another location and reused it (they covered the cost of removal and paid us a small amount for the house). Other houses in the area have been taken apart with useful items going to Habitat. Though this scenario is much more involved then say trashing the whole house, there may be tax advantages to doing it, depending on your situation.

Like another poster said, before you attempt, find out if any restrictions exist. You may need a rebuild plan in place before you can get a demo permit. Depending on location you may get neighborhood resistance, or be required to get approval of homeowners within a certain distance, etc.

• worthy
    11 years ago