Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
staceyneil

Really rough estimate for road extension? (+ Q on selling a lot)

Stacey Collins
9 years ago

Hi folks! Although we are long-time GW-ers, I am a newbie on the building forum.

We're barely done with our whole-house renovation/remodel and hadn't planned to put this house on the market for another year, but a very interesting opportunity has presented itself. We've long had a dream to buy a large parcel of land and live in the existing home while building our Forever Home.
A great situation to do that has presented itself, and we're trying to figure out some really rough numbers to see how do-able it is.

There is currently a dirt road leading from the town road to the existing home on the 50+ acre parcel. There's a great home site few more acres back where we'd want to build. We'd need to extend the existing gravel road by about 650 feet, through wooded area. Does anyone have any sense of how much that costs? (ie is it more like $5,000 or $20,000?) This is in Maine, if it matters.

Secondly, on a large parcel like that, what would be involved in carving off a couple of building lots to sell to raise capital for our future build? I've already checked and the zoning restrictions are minimum 3 acres with 200 feet road frontage. I was thinking we might sell 2 lots along the road near the existing house. Does that count as "subdivision" or is that just selling part of your property? I don't understand the distinction, and I noticed there are separate zoning laws for "subdivision".

Also one other thing: I am not sure if the existing gravel road is a town road or a private road. I'm guessing private since it's not paved. Does that change the situation? Does the "200 ft of road frontage" rule apply to private roads?

Thank you for your input!

Comments (6)

• dekeoboe
    9 years ago

You need to go to your county offices and ask them these questions. What applies where I live may not apply where you live.

• nostalgicfarm