Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
farmhousemom23

I'm new! Need constructive criticism on my floor plan.

farmhousemom23
11 years ago

I've read for awhile, but this is my first posting. Here are some details about me and my plans. We are starting to build in January and have been planning for 4 years. It is me, my husband, and 3 kiddos, and we are building on our 26 acres. My plan is a simple farmhouse, two full stories (no dog houses), 40 x 30 rectangle, porch on front and back with deck on sides (for sunlight purposes), white siding, green roof, etc. I have never found a plan like I need, so I enjoy drawing my own. This floorplan is what I'd like, but I am no designer, and I'm sure there are some errors, as well as things that won't work. That's why I need your help! I do plan on getting it drawn up by someone, but I'd like to get the kinks ironed out for my sake. Thanks for your time and suggestions! Oh, and please ignore the third picture. It's just a copy of the first.

Here is a link that might be useful: My floorplan

Comments (10)

• mgmsrk
    11 years ago

Can you scan the plans in as bigger files? I zoomed to 400 and had trouble working them out.

It is also best to put the plans in the post. I'm sure you will get help after that.

• farmhousemom23
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks. I tried to do both of those things, but I'll keep trying ! :)

• palimpsest
    11 years ago

It looks like you are not using the squares at the same scale consistently. For a schematic drawing like this you can use 2 squares per foot (each = 6") which = 1/8 scale.

For more detailed drawings I would make 4 squares per foot (each = 3") which = 1/4 scale.

You need to take into account wall thickness even at this stage. Standard construction interior walls are 4-1/2" thick, walls with pipes or ducts may be 6" or more.

I know that sounds like work but inches can count.

Right now I see areas that if you are using 1 square = 1 foot you are way undersized in allowances.