Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rsc2a

New Member - Please critique

rsc2a
14 years ago

Hey everyone,

Thought I would introduce myself and give a little background. I have been wanting to build for several years; my wife and I have completely remodelled two houses (first one a complete gut job, second one gutted the kitchen and bathrooms). I'm an engineer by trade and will be doing the design myself. In addition, I'll be doing most of the work on the house; I'm thinking I'll hire out the site work, concrete work, roofing, most HVAC, drywall, and possibly framing. The rest falls on my shoulders. I am hoping I can figure out how to attach my floor plans so that I can have everyone tell me how bad they look :) :P. I'm really hoping I can pull this off for $60/sf (although I know sf pricing means nothing). But I'll be using higher end finishes (wife thinks I'm crazy but I'm considering venetian plastering every room, walls and ceilings.

Thanks!

rsc2a

Here is a link that might be useful: House Plans

Comments (33)

• marthaelena
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

rsc2a,
    Do you have a plan with the dimensions?
    Without the dimensions, I am thinking that the proportions are not ok (like the great room seems small in comparison)
    I do not like the bedroom without direct windows to exterior.
    I prefer to locate the furnace/WH in a more central location for energy efficiency.
    I am guessing that you forgot to place a window in the kitchen.
    It would be nice to have a window by the whirlpool.
    The master bathroom could have a nicer layout. Feels like a long hallway.
    The general concept is interesting.
    Good luck

• arch123
    14 years ago

I agree with marthaelena - where are the window in this house? Is there any natural light in the kitchen?

• rsc2a
    Original Author
    14 years ago