Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
miata94

Issues with Builder

miata94
11 years ago

I am in the process of having my first home being built. I chose a new neighborhood that is being built by a nationwide builder, so it is not a custom build. I did have a few options and selections, but the layout is a standard layout from the builder.

Anyways, they are in the framing process and I have had a couple issues with the builder so far. First, I have entered the home before framing has been completed, and the builder said this is a huge risk and I can't enter again until framing is complete. I am an engineer, and would never enter a building that does not look structurally sound.

Second, I took a few pictures of some things I didn't like about the house, such as large gaps between roof trusses and large holes in the plywood. I sent these to the builder and he sent me back an email that really made me mad, saying I need to have faith that he will build me a good house and not to send him a punch list every time I visit the house. How would you guys handle this?

This is my first house, and I chose to build new, so I don't have much experience with this. If you were building a non-custom home (may be referred to as a spec home?) would you expect to be able to send pictures of things you don't like to the builder? Thanks for the help!

Comments (28)

• phoggie
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I would not send pictures, I would go have a chat with him in person.....but keep the pics in case you need them later.

• User
    11 years ago

On a build like that, you have almost zero leverage to effect any change whatsoever. The only recourse that you have is if it fails inspection. And it won't. Builders like that have the inspectors in their hip pockets. The only other option would be to discuss with your lawyer about terminating the contract and buying somewhere else or doing a custom build.

• robin0919
    11 years ago