Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kesh0910

Critique my plan please.

kesh0910
9 years ago

Hi! I have read and re-read tons of posts on here, but this is my first time posting. My husband and I are looking to build in a couple of years, but I like to get a head start. I think we have decided on this plan. I want to make a few changes, but we haven't met with an architect or anything. I will attach a photo of the changes I have made in a follow-up post. I just want to know what people's likes/dislikes about the plan are.

Comments (12)

• kesh0910
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I used an online floor planner, so the measurements aren't exactly what they will be. The major change is the Guest Bed 1 bath area and the master bath. I have also moved the fireplace in the great room to the corner and moved around appliances in the kitchen. Are these things that I will have to get an architect to draw up or can these be tweaked by the builder? Thanks!

• kirkhall
    9 years ago

What did you do, exactly, with that back entry bathroom? It looks like you split it, made a powder and a full bath, but no door to full bath? Or, is there a bidet in it? I can't tell with the graphics you include.

I think I'd change the hallway to the laundry room. Is there a reason you've situated it this way?

I think what you've done, now that I've studied it longer, you made a full bath for a guest room and a powder. Am I right?

If it were me, I'd put the full bath for the guest where the laundry is and move your laundry to the back hall/mudroom area where you currently have the guest bath. Then, you can recover some of the hall floor space as laundry room space.

Also, I am concerned, that you lost a closet on that back hall that was probably actually meant for HVAC chases etc. By flipping laundry and bath, and recovering the floor space dedicated now to hall, you will gain some space for HVAC again.