Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amtrucker22

Don Gardner Springdale Search & critique

amtrucker22
12 years ago

Has anyone had this house built? This is the one we like most so far. I did a search and only found one hit of someone thinking about it. Would love to see pictures if someone has had it built.

My background is family of 4 (me, wife, and 2 young boys) and live in north Florida. We would like a playroom for the boys (we picture it being the bonus room). We will be building on a lot that is 3/4 - 1 (haven't found that yet)

Changes we would make to this plan:

~Convert the 'Study' in this plan to a bedroom for guest

~We would also like to make the 1/2 bath to a full bath downstairs so guest would not have to go upstairs.

~We would have the porch wrap around the left side of the house and connect to the porch in the rear.

~Maybe install a laundry chute :)

Please let me know what you think. Our plans do not necessarily include an architect so the changes would probably be minimal.

Comments (19)

• kirkhall
    12 years ago

North Florida... probably no basement?
    In that case, you should consider using the space under the stairs--either in your bathroom remodel to get the full bath, or for more pantry storage.

It has no front coat closet, but may not be an issue for you in your climate. Just something to be aware of in case it would be.

And, you might make room in the laundry/mudroom for cubbies rather than the closet storage that is there. Just a thought.

It is interesting to me that you are thinking of changing the study/living room into a guestroom rather than the dining room. Do you plan to use your dining room as a dining room?

A laundry chute looks easy to add in this plan, assuming it is allowed in your jurisdiction.

But, in all, I like it, and it is a cute plan on the exterior as well.

• auroraborelis
    12 years ago