Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ibewye

Has anyone tackled a septic system install.

ibewye
11 years ago

I'm considering trying to go my own septic system. I've read up on them quite a bit and have all the requirements from code enforcement. I have limited excavation experience but catch on quickly. I'm already planning on digging the ditches for geothermal installation, so equipment is not an issue. I just think it could save 6-8k by doing it myself. I realize I won't be as fast but it's not critical at this point. One last know, the area of the septic will be going in as a wide open field without any underground utilities around, no powerlines, not even trees in the way. Has anyone tried this and ran into something unexpected, Is it worth the savings?

Comments (15)

• LOTO
    11 years ago

I am sure that some states/counties have strict rules on who can install a septic system and the design of them. I am building on 30 acres and my septic install (conventional tank and lateral lines) is only costing $5,000.00 and I am not even considering installing it even though I have installed several septic systems years ago.
    Installing a conventional system is not rocket science but you should check with the county first. Where I am at a perc test or soil analysis is even required and no inspection after installation either....just a permit and it is free.
    If you are going to dig for the geothermal anyway and have the time 6-8k is a good savings..installers must make a bit more profit in your area as mine is only 5k installed.
    I am also going geothermal but drilling wells.

• mom2samlibby
    11 years ago