Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtnrdredux_gw

Misc. Structural Engineering Question

mtnrdredux_gw
10 years ago

We are installing an antique millstone as a fountain in the center of a koi pond and I want advice on the necessary support.

We are using a koi pond contractor and our landscape contractor, both of which seem knowledgable ... but no one has done this before.

The millstone is 62' in diameter, approx 8' thick, and weighs an estimated 3,000 pounds. We will probably move it in place by crane.

The fountain is 5' deep and 14'5 in interior diameter. We have dug down and extra two feet in the center to provide additional support for the millstone.

Question --- assuming we use sonotube (right?). What diameter does the sonotube need to be to provide the right support?

thanks in advance!

Comments (8)

• virgilcarter
    10 years ago

Surely you've made a typo--62-feet wide and 8-feet thick?

I'm not a structural engineer, but a single poured footing under the center of the millstone (whatever the width may be) using a sonotube may not be the best solution. I'd think you'd need a footing approximating the diameter of the millstone for proper full bearing support. Any footing should go below frost depth.

Alternatively you might be able to use 4 sonotubes at the 12, 3, 6 and 9 o'clock positions, of perhaps a minimum of 1-foot diameter going below frost depth.

Good luck with your project.

• brickeyee
    10 years ago

A lot depend on the soil type you are putting the support into.

A local geotechnical engineer can verify the weight bearing capacity of your soil and likely provide some advice on how large a support will be required to prevent sinking of the millstone.

You may need a larger than stone footing type design to spread the load over a larger area depending on soil conditions.

Columns transfer weight to a footer in many cases to reduce the per square foot soil loading.

• mtnrdredux_gw
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, both of you.