Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
qbryant

Stairs and windows

qbryant
11 years ago

I'm looking for ideas and prices on stairs and windows,can you buy DIY stair kits?also what about some price ideas on windows,were wanting to build something like this but a little smaller.

Comments (18)

• qbryant
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Modern stairs

• millworkman
    11 years ago

I don't think DIY stair kits are available (never heard of such a thing) or necessarily a wise idea as EVERY set is slightly different (as well as building codes). As far as windows I would suggest the window forum, and before you post there you will need some more detail as far as window material and what you expect of the windows as well as the area of the country your building in.

• annkh_nd
    11 years ago

In the lake home I've been designing in my head for several years, I want to make use of every inch of space (it's a small lot). I want to put drawers under the lower stairs, opening into a hallway, for things like beach towels, blankets, etc. Your photo shows little knobs on the panels, but drawers would give much easier access to the space.

• 293summer
    11 years ago

Might want to put a shout out to Pbx2. She just finished a house that has stairs that looks very much like those. They're gorgeous. I'm sure she could give you some pointers. Check out the April build topic:

http://ths.gardenweb.com/forums/load/build/msg0409593222717.html?106

• qbryant
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Sorry what I am looking for is the railing that I could do myself,does anybody supply this stuff?

• dekeoboe
    11 years ago

To me, the stair railing doesn't look like anything you could DIY. It looks like it is steel welded together into one piece rather than using steel rods or cable, which can be done DIY. (Can be, but is not easy.) Also, you need to check to see if your local authorities allow horizontal railing. Some don't because children can climb on them.

• 293summer