Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
broli4000

Shells

broli4000
11 years ago

I'm looking to build a home in South Eastern PA. We have some budgetary concerns so I have looked at modular builds and pretty much every other type of build I can think of and most of the time, the shipping and architect fees are just too high and end up costing more than the material costs of the home.

It is just my wife and myself, so we don't need a ton of room at all. I've found a nice plan online that ends up being 1200 sq/ft which is a little more than I wanted to do, but it fits our needs so well that it works. With that being said, I have some experience in laying floor, hanging sheetrock and putting up cabinets and so on, so we are thinking that having contractors put up the outer shell (foundation, electrical, plumbing rough in, roof and framing - basically get it dried in as I've heard it called). Since we are in a modern enough of a climate, we would be doing a pellet stove and installing that ourselves as part of interior stuff, so that should also cut down on the cost dramatically knowing that there is no duct work or HVAC systems

My issue is that we kinda need to know what we are looking at before we even buy the plans to know if this works for us. Really, I need someone to give me a rough idea of what a shell would cost and if we could keep that under $50k (not including land of course) so we could do our interior work on budget.

How would I go about getting that or is there anyone here that could confirm or deny my rough cost idea for that?

Comments (8)

• User
    11 years ago