Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
naplesguy_gw

Cost of Front Door?

NaplesGuy
12 years ago

I got a quote from my builder for our front door.

84" x 123 Impact Rated Unit, Door: 42" x 99" x 2.25" S.A. Mahogany with divided lite transom and side lites.

Price includes:

Stain grade mahogany jamb 10.5"

5x5 B.B. Hinges with NRP

Bronze Q-Lon weatherstripping

Standard Bore

Shipping and Delivery

Full wood threshold

The design is fairly simple - 3 boxes on the door made from applied molding.

The price quoted is $12,800 + 1,200 for installation for a total of $14,000.

I have no experience to tell me if that is in the ballpark or not. I was hoping to hear from people if the price is reasonable.

Comments (18)

• mydreamhome
    12 years ago

Sounds high to me. You might want to check out DSA Master Crafted Doors for a comparison. Our mahogany front door came from them and the door cost about $3500 for everything. The trim guy did the install. I'm sure the impact rating increases the cost significantly. The link below will take you the door we went with on the DSA site. You can navigate the different styles from there.

Hope this helps!

Here is a link that might be useful: DSA Master Crafted Doors

• gingerjenny
    12 years ago

WOW! i'm not sure but $14,000 buys a new car or something! that is a lot of money for a front door.

• bevangel_i_h8_h0uzz
    12 years ago

Front doors ARE expensive but some places are MUCH more expensive than others. We wanted pre-hung double front doors with leaded glass inserts and a coordinating leaded glass transom above. Prices of very similar doors - and similar quality - at our four local shops ranged from $4500 (installed) to over $16,000! Shop around. If you're willing to go with something similar but not identical to your original design, you can probably do a lot better. Just be sure to go with a reputable company. A warped front door or one that is not installed straight and true will bug you every time you use it.

• sis3