Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
athensmomof3_gw

How did you structure your builder's contract?

athensmomof3
14 years ago

I am totally new to all of this and very confused :) I am wondering the best way to structure the builder's contract. I am interested in buying some things on my own, like some light fixtures (either antique or through several trade only vendors I have access to) and other decorative such items, and perhaps other things like certain appliances.

I know many of you have bought appliances and other things outside of your builder's contract, so I hope you can help. I always assumed we would do a cost plus contract, but the comment was made to me that if we buy things outside of the contract we will be cutting into the builders profit.

I am not planning on purchasing construction items, but more decorative type things, etc. as I come across them. I guess there is the possibility I will purchase the occasional item to be incorporated in construction, like antique doors, etc. but we are plenty early enough to do that I guess.

Any help would be appreciated!

Comments (12)

• pps7
    14 years ago

We have a cost plus contract. I understand what you are saying about buying unique things. If the things you are going to buy are of little monetary value compared to the the value of the entire house, then I don't think the builder will mind, as long as they are available when needed. As far as appliances, choose what you like and give the list to your builder and have him buy it.

Another alternative is to set a fixed salary for the GC. He will get paid $XXX for the build. Then you are free to buy whatever you like and he won't care.

• macv
    14 years ago

"cost plus" is contractor jargon for a "Cost of the Work plus a Fixed Fee" contract. The builder bills you the actual Cost of the Work plus a Fee each month. The Fee can be a fixed percent of the Cost or it can be a fixed Lump Sum billed in predetermined installments.

• srercrcr
    14 years ago