Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rushmom3

Looking for a Farmhouse plan

rushmom3
16 years ago

This is my first time posting in this forum. I look forward to hearing from all of you experts out there. We are a family of 5. Kids ages are 7, 5, and 2. We are building in the country and I would love to find a nice farmhouse plan. When I drive through the country I'm always drawn to the old farmhouses. As far as floor plan we are looking at about 2100 sq ft. We'd like both a living room and great room and either 4 bedrooms or 3 bedrooms with a bonus room. I prefer plans with the laundry/mudroom entry from the garage and it HAS TO have a nice front porch. Lastly, my DH requires a 3 car garage. I think I've searched the typical online sites and I find many plans labeled 'farmhouse' but they don't jump out at me. I'll try to attach a couple that have caught my eye. Am I looking for the impossible? Thanks in advance for your help!!!

Here is a link that might be useful: Farmhouse plan

Comments (41)

• solie
    16 years ago

A front-facing garage doesn't say "farmhouse" to me. I think an attached garage would look OK, but I think it would look better is it were not so obviously incorporated into the main structure.

It also seems like you are looking to squeeze a lot into 2100 sq ft. You might want to go with a basement.

This plan is simple and nice and you could possibly forgo the open space to achieve a bonus room.

Here is a link that might be useful: southern living Hampton Bay retreat

• shawneeks
    16 years ago