Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thewitchdoctor

Begging for help with floorplan

Thewitchdoctor
10 years ago

Construction has begun and I need to meet with drafter ASAP to give him corrections to the prelim plan. Since our basement walls have been poured and foundation for garage there are some constraints ( the retaining walls and outline of basement).- I hate the retaining wall in back but it's there and I doubt that I can do much about it.

4100 sf lodge/ rustic style with rusted tin roof

1)I'm not in love with front of house - see bottom pic where I'm trying to see what I can do with those windows. Husband wants windows in front for passive solar heating. Any ideas???

This is my first time posting a pic too.

2) please give any ideas or suggestions on floor plan

Example of look and feel we want

Comments (6)

• mrspete
    10 years ago

Overall, I like it. The room sizes look comfortable but not bloated. The layout is nice. My comments:

- I'd prefer the laundry near the master closet. This isn't a make-or-break, but I prefer it.
    - The master bath is all doors, which is very common in new plans, but I think they'd just be in the way. The toilet closet is narrow and the uncomfortable type which must be "backed into" -- the worst to clean, the worst for an elderly person. Also, I'd combine the closets to eliminate one door.
    - I can't read the dimensions of the bedrooms. Is the secondary bedroom big enough for comfort?
    - I think I'd prefer the back door by the dining area, but that is opinion.

• Thewitchdoctor
    Original Author
    10 years ago

MrsPete,
    Thank you!
    The guestroom on main level is 12x11- should be enough for Queen bed but now that you point it out maybe we can do 12x12