Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hjs2009

Waterfront floorplan help

hjs2009
11 years ago

We are building a 1600 sq on a STEEP lakefront lot. The slope calls for shallow design, and will max out amazinf rear view. I'm interested in others opinion of this plan. We want 2br 2 1/2 BA with open layout. Expansive view from walking in door is a goal. We are still working on front elevation but want a cottage/beachy feel. Suggestions welcome on frontage. Having trouble with front curb appeal due to shallow plan.

Comments (8)

• Annie Deighnaugh
    11 years ago

Is there a lower level that will be finished?

• chicagoans
    11 years ago

that looks like good use of the space. I'm not an expert so I'm hoping they'll chime in, but just a couple things I noticed:

- looks like it would be hard to access far side of the front hall closet (the part farthest from the closet door.) How about making that closet end where the door wall is, and then have another closet that opens into the hall by the garage. You'd lose a few inches of closet space with a wall, but the space would be more reachable. OR don't have a wall separating the two halves of the closet, just have a door that opens on the other side and position the shelf + bar for that half of the closet against the right side wall.
    - swing the half bath door the other way - it will be easier to come into the room and close the door. You can move it a bit farther to the right, too.
    - you could move the closet in the second bedroom so that it backs up to the back wall of the master closet. That would give you more options for a bigger bed or maybe second bed, if that's ever needed. If you want room for a dresser along that right wall of the BR, you could rotate the closet so the door opens into the little alcove below the BR door (rotate clockwise in my mockup.)

• dekeoboe
    11 years ago

All the traffic coming in through the garage goes right through the kitchen. How will the cook feel about that?

• renovator8