Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eacx2

Floor Plan Review Revised Plan

EACX2
11 years ago

Here is the second revision to our floor plan. So far I like most of the plan, but would like opinions or suggestions on how to layout the kitchen? I want to have a space to walk into the kitchen without passing through the living room. I would move the refrigerator to the other wall and leave that space open, but am worried about losing too much counter space. Any help is appreciated.

Comments (5)

• EACX2
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is the second floor. Is the master bedroom closet wide enough?

• jakabedy
    11 years ago

I'm not an expert on dimensions, but here are a few things that caught my eye:

- Maybe move the MBR closet door a bit toward the front of the house, and use a pocket door. That would allow you to have a hanging rod or shelves on the other short wall in the closet and you wouldn't have to work around the open door when you're in the closet.

- If you're planning a masonry fireplace/chimney, you're not going to be able to have the window where you've placed it in the Master Bath.

- You might want two windows on the long wall in the MBR, so there is one on either side of the bed (assuming the bed goes on that wall).

- if the Bonus Room is meant to be a media room, you could stub in plumbing for a bar sink in the corner behind the main bath.

- if the main floor office is meant to serve as a guest room at some point, you might consider making the powder room at least a 3/4 bath. I'm not sure how to do that in the space you have, but it's a consideration. (Maybe cede the coat closet space back to the powder room and rob some space from the office closet for a new hall closet?)

- You don't have a way to close off the laundry room from the rest of the house. Maybe there is enough distance and drywall between the laundry room and the LR to make the noise not an issue, but maybe not.