Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dctl

frank betz- summerlake..

dctl
16 years ago

This is my 1st time to post..so pls bare w/ me...I read a post from September where someone was about to start the "Summerlake" plan by Frank Betz and said they were changing the kitchen by walling up a wall instead of it being open....That is exactly what we are about to do...and would love to hear how it turned out...or possibly even see some pictures....

Please let me know...Very anxious to get started and hope we are making the right decision! Thanks!

Comments (20)

• honeychild1
    16 years ago

We didn't build Frank Betz's "Summerlake", but did build the "Allentown". However, I might can weigh in here on your dilema. (I'm going to try to post a photo, but I've never tried before and it might not work.)

In our floor plan you could access the kitchen from the dining room, and in two place from the "Great room" . We elected to only have the one opening from the dining room and one opening from the great room. We love it! Which wall are you thinking of closing in?

Here is a link that might be useful: Link to Allentown

• coneal7505_charter_net
    16 years ago

We are wanting to "widen" the kitchen and have an island overlooking the breakfast area....so we would not have an "angled island" overlooking the greatroom. We would put a wall there and just have probably a 4ft opening entering in between the kitchen and eat-in area, and also keep the opening into the kitchen from the dining room.
    All of this to give the great room a more cozy feel..more walls to place furniture up against. We just sold our home that was very open..and we always said when we build again...we were not going for an open plan...however, everything else about the summerlake- we love...Love how the stairs are off the kitchen and how they are not just a strait 'up' stairway....
    Anyway...I couldn't see your picture...but thank you for corresponding.
    What is your opinion about our changes??