Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skyangel23_gw

How are you customizing your house on a budget?

Skyangel23
10 years ago

Hi,
I am new to GardenWeb. We are at the blocking stage on our first build. We have two gorgeous acres and 2700 sf, but due to budget we are limited on upgrades.

I would like to know what smaller, less expensive things you are doing to make your home look more custom/high end for less? For example, instead of the builder grade mirrors, we are bringing in our own framed mirrors found at a vintage shop. We deleted the ceramic toilet paper holders and towel bars; the builder will install bronze ones we bring in. In the bathrooms (and kitchen), we deleted the built in backsplash attached to the countertops, and we will be doing custom stone tile backsplashes after we close.

I am very interested in hearing what other people are are doing that are low on the cost factor but high on the "wow" scale. :-)

Comments (29)

• William222
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

3 years back i was facing the same problem as my budget was limited. I contacted several builders but not in my budget and lastly found B&B Homes, meeting my budget. They built custom RTM home and it has been a good experience so far. It can be shifted from one place to another without worrying of packing and unloading of the goods and furniture.

• mushcreek
    10 years ago

Since I'm building my own home, everything is custom. We are also on a very limited budget, though, so you have to get creative. I've been all over craigslist and ebay, buying vintage lighting fixtures. It's ironic that you can get the real thing much cheaper than reproductions! Even if you brought them to a lamp shop for rewiring, you'd still be money ahead. As an example, I paid $40 for a pair of vintage porcelain sconces for the bathroom. Repro ones are $160- each!