Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
threeapples

Spouse says yes to central vac, but not hide a hose. please advis

threeapples
12 years ago

Our house will be about 7,000 sq ft and he has two reasons for saying no to the hide a hose: the house will be too big and we'll need to have the cabinets everywhere, and it's too expensive. we won't have any wall-to-wall carpeting, but we will have oriental rugs in some areas. i don't like the idea of these hoses scraping against my pretty baseboards, but with all of us dealing with allergies, it makes sense to have a cental vac. I'd love any thoughts. thanks!

Comments (28)

• kelhuck
    12 years ago

How nice of him to volunteer to sweep the house for the rest of his life!! ;)

Seriously, though- I'm not an expert on the central vac thing yet- we're still in the visualizing stage. But it seems to me that it would be silly to have the central vac WITHOUT the HAH. I wouldn't want to lug that big hose all around the huge house.

With the HAH, the tubing can retract in to the walls, so you would just see an outlet-looking thing on the wall, not a cabinet. And the hose is something like 50 ft, so depending on how your house is laid out, you would probably need 3 or 4.

Like I said, I'm not an expert, but it seems like I would either go with a CV with HAH or just forget the whole thing and go with a Dyson.

• TWINCREEKS
    12 years ago

threeapples: